Social Geomedia

Every time I use this phrase someone tells me “Geomedia is Trademarked’.  I realize this, and if I were Intergraph (the company that owns the software suite called Geomedia) I would be stoked to be associated with this phrase I keep claiming to have coined.

Why would I be excited you ask?

Because social is the way of the future. We have already called the social shift in the internet ‘Web 2.0’. We could just as easily call Social Geomedia ‘GIS 2.0’. I’m defining Social Geomedia as Crowd Sourced data that has a spatial component and, via live social media feeds, is used to infer a social ‘pulse’ based on location. And I have just made myself the expert on this topic. BOOM!

So where is all this excitement coming from? I gave a talk at MISA BC on GIS day last Friday, and despite the fact that everything that could go wrong from a technology aspect did go wrong, the presentation was a blast, and generated good dialogue in the room and on twitter!

For the Presentation slides that show some of the topics I covered see my Prezi. Disclaimer: These are visual ques and eye-candy to supplement my presentation, not tell all the gory details – that is what I do. If you want more info on anything please contact me.

The 30 second mash-up of the twitter feeds timeline was really popular and I have had a lot of requests to post a link so here it is. Just search for misabc (or anything your heart desires) and watch the tweets pop up!

This is just ONE simple application of ONE social media avenue. Now, scale up and think about the possibilities….

One thought on “Social Geomedia

  1. Agree, data is amazing! Does data needs a good civic plan? Well planned think Amsterdam. No plan, think Luanda, Angola. Loved the post … a. Kel

Leave a Reply

